This website is no longer live

As part of the changes to the NHS brought about by the Health and Social Care Act 2012, Primary Care Trusts (PCTs) ceased to exist on 31 March 2013. Most of their responsibilities were taken over by the NHS Commissioning Board and Clinical Commissioning Groups. Their public health functions moved to the main city and county councils in their areas.

For more details please see: or click on the links below.
NHS England

Its 27 local area teams commission GP practices, dentists, pharmacists and optometrists, as well as some specialist services.
Department of Health

Sets objectives and budgets and holds the system to account on behalf of the Secretary of State.
NHS Choices

Search for NHS services in your postcode area. The site also has information on health conditions, treatments, and healthy living.
Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs)
Made up of local GPs, nurses and other professionals. CCGs commission hospitals, mental and community health services.
Leicester City CCCG
East Leicestershire & Rutland CCG
West Leicestershire CCG

GEM Commissioning Support Unit provides business support, eg, HR, procurement, legal services, IT, communications and advice to CCGs.
Public Heath England

Provides public health leadership and expertise, and works to improve the nation’s health and wellbeing, and to reduce health inequalities.
Health Education England

Responsible for the education, training and development of the healthcare workforce.
Trust Development Authority

Supporting NHS trusts to secure sustainable, high quality services for the patients and communities it serves.
To make COMPLAINTS about GP services, dentists, pharmacies and optometrists in Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland, please phone 0116 295 7011 or email

For Freedom of Information Act requests, please email

The content of this PCT website at March 2013 is still available from the National Archive via this link: